Back to News

Board of Trustees Selects Danik Becotte as Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee

The Northern Lights Public Schools Board of Trustees is delighted to announce the selection of Danik Becotte as the Division's nominee for the Alberta School Boards' Association Edwin Parr Teacher Award. This annual award honours outstanding first-year teachers for their outstanding dedication and contributions to education.

Mr. Becotte, who teaches French and Science at Cold Lake High School, joined NLPS during the 2022-2023 school year in a temporary capacity before transitioning to a permanent teaching position for the current academic year.

Expressing his gratitude, Becotte stated, "I am very honoured to be chosen as this year's nominee. New teachers put in a lot of work, and although recognition isn't needed, acknowledgment of our hard work is always appreciated. I extend my heartfelt thanks to the Board for recognizing the efforts of myself and my fellow first-year educators."

Born and raised in Cold Lake, and a product of the Northern Lights Public Schools system, Becotte graduated from Cold Lake High School in 2019 before attending the University of Alberta. Beyond his passion for teaching, he enjoys various outdoor activities including hiking, kayaking, fishing, and snowboarding. Additionally, he serves as a coach for Junior B Lacrosse in Cold Lake.

Reflecting on his initial year in teaching, Becotte highlighted the significance of fostering meaningful connections with his students. "Building genuine relationships with my students is the most rewarding aspect of teaching. When you're able to really get to know your students, and see that they want to come to your classroom and are comfortable there, that's the best. I love being in the classroom and having fun there. And when I have fun, my students reciprocate that."

Cold Lake High School Principal Dustin Walker commended Becotte's professionalism and dedication, citing his exemplary performance both as a student and as a teacher. "I've known Danik since he was a young man, and I've watched him grow up into a very responsible, intelligent, and hard-working Grade 12 graduate. He went off to university and came back to us, and we're really glad for that. He has knocked it out of the park as a new teacher, showing a huge amount of poise, class, and compassion for kids. I think he's going to be a fabulous teacher and is going to have a great career."

"Danik Becotte embodies all of the the qualities of an exceptional educator: dedication, passion, and a genuine commitment to his students' success," said Board Chair Karen Packard. "His remarkable ability to build meaningful relationships, combined with his enthusiasm for teaching, sets him apart. We are confident that Danik will continue to inspire and positively impact the lives of his students, and we are proud to nominate him for this award."

The Alberta School Boards' Association's Edwin Parr Award allows each school board in Alberta to nominate one outstanding first-year teacher. A winner is selected from each Zone, with Northern Lights Public Schools belonging to Zone 2/3, which selects two winners. All six zone winners are honored at the ASBA’s Fall General Meeting.