Back to News

2023 Retirement Celebration

The NLPS Board of Trustees and ATA Local #15 celebrated the retirement of nine division staff and welcomed 10 new teachers to the profession at a celebration held in Glendon on Friday night.

"This was an opportunity for everyone to come together to honour our retirees and express our gratitude for the combined 271 years they have devoted to our students, schools and the division,” said Board Chair Karen Packard. “We were also able to formally introduce our new teachers to the division and we look forward to seeing all the amazing things they will accomplish in the years to come."

The nine retirees recognized at this year's celebration were:

  • Don Bourassa - Maintenance, Lac La Biche
  • Janice Connolly - Glendon School
  • Heather Dempsey - Aurora Middle School, Lac La Biche
  • Bob McRae - Maintenance, Bonnyville
  • Terry Moghrabi - Division Office
  • Jodi Rebkowich - Ecole Plamondon School
  • Sharon Sharun - H.E. Bourgoin Middle School, Bonnyville
  • Shelley Thody - Vera M. Welsh Elementary School, Lac La Biche
  • Karin White, Kikino School

This was the second year the Board and ATA have partnered to recognize retirees, and new teachers being inducted into the ATA. Milestone awards will be presented at school sites in June.